Too many stories, so little time–Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday for March 2

Four books releasing in March? What the heck was I thinking???

Oh yeah, I remember. I’m going to That Book Place for  an Author’s Fair in Madison, Indiana, and I wanted to be able to take new books with me. *headdesk*

So I have the fourth book in the Clan Elves series, THE ELF GUARDIAN: cvr200x300elfguardian2

And a story, “A Recipe For Success,” in SIDEKICKS, the new speculative fiction anthology from Alliteration Ink (writing as Alana Lorens):SIDEKICKS_512

And a new contemporary romance called BY ANY OTHER NAME coming from Desert Breeze Publishing   March 23…(also writing as Alana Lorens)

Holy Mother of bacon and blueberry muffins, Batman!

I feel like I’m tied to one of the fans on a windmill, spinning around trying to see which book I’m talking about THIS time.

Oh, wait. I know. I’m talking about the first book in the Horizon Crossover series, HORIZON SHIFT.

Here’s the blurb: When Captain Temms Rogers of the Confederation spaceship Doubtful disobeys orders to attack innocent civilians, he and his crew become hunted rebels. In the midst of a desperate space battle, they risk using an experimental alien device that opens a wormhole which hurls them into a new universe.

(Yes, the name of his ship is the Doubtful, and yes, there’s a good reason for it. It’s in the book. :)  )

horizonshift800x1200

Captain Rogers has a lot on his mind, what with trying to save what’s left of his ship and his crew in the new universe. Even his sleep is troubled with worries:

When he finished saying grace, the children passed bowls of food and chattered about school as Connie corrected their grammar and manners. He could only watch–he couldn’t move.

Connie said something about the Confederation school and Tommy bragged about how he couldn’t wait to become a Confederation officer like his dad.

Temms wanted to tell Tommy he was forbidden to go. Tommy passed the tray of broiled meat, and small marks appeared on his shirt, red marks that got bigger and more liquid. Blood.

Tommy babbled about joining the Confederation corps as he slowly bled out and Connie looked at Temms, accusing him.

“How could you let this happen? How could you?”

He couldn’t move.

****

Here’s another snippet from December 2012 from HORIZON SHIFT, and here’s where you can catch a whole bunch of assorted free snippets from authors around the world at Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday– come by and read them all!

Posted on March 1, 2013, in book, fantasy, fiction, science fiction, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Whaaaat? Why’s Tommy bleeding out? This is very very exciting. When’s this being released? I want it.

  2. Surreal! Nice juxtaposition here of the every day and the macabre. Sounds like someone has a guilty conscience. Good luck at the author’s fair!

  3. Talk about tension at the diner table, this tops them all.

    • I really need to proof read when I use my cell phone. I meant dinner, not diner. Good luck at the fair

  4. Good call, JC. This BETTER be out by Wednesday if I’m going to have copies to take to Indiana in 2 weeks. I’ll come back and post when it’s live on Amazon… :)

  5. Wow, that is a haunting dream. To be frozen and unable to move, or speak, to watch your son bleed and then to be accused by your wife. Crazy-good snippet.

  6. I like that he was “babbling” while bleeding out – didn’t expect those two words together and of course being frozen for the whole scene upped the tension and leaving out the actual cause of the injury kept me reading.

  7. Has the crazy logic of a nightmare, all right.

  8. I hate dreams like that. But, your depiction of it is well done.

  9. Riveting! I’m wondering when this will be out as well!!!

  10. Wow. Powerful scene! I’d hate to have that dream.

  11. I love the imagery of the growing blotch of blood. Very creepy.

    Congrats on everything you have coming out!

  12. Brrrr – atmospheric and chilling. A classic nightmare, very evocatively described. Good sequence, even if (or perhaps especially because) it did give me the shivers.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

